Energy Independence And Security Act Of 2007

Section 321 of the Energy Independence and Security Act (EISA) establishes increased minimum energy efficiency standards for general service lamps. EISA does not ban incandescent light bulbs, but its minimum efficiency standards are high enough that the incandescent lamps most commonly used by consumers today will not meet the new requirements. Once implemented, the Act will essentially eliminate 40W, 60W, 75W, and 100W medium screw-base incandescent light bulbs.

This document provides an overview of the EISA provisions for general service lamps regarding:

  • The definition of a general service lamp
  • New minimum efficiency standards
  • The effective date for new standards
  • Exemptions

Definition of a General Service Lamp 

General service lamps include:

  • General service incandescent lamps
  • Compact fluorescent lamps (CFLs)
  • General service light-emitting diode (LED) or organic light emitting diode (OLED) lamps
  • Any other lamps that the Secretary of the Department of Energy (DOE) determines are used to satisfy lighting applications traditionally serviced by general service incandescent lamps

In addition, general service lamps are:

  • Intended for general service applications
  • Medium screw-base lamps
  • Designed for a light output between 310 and 2600 lumens
  • Capable of operating at a voltage range at least partially within 110 and 130 volts

New Minimum Efficiency Standards

Rated Lumen Ranges Typical Current Lamp Wattage Maximum Rate Wattage Minimum Rated Lifetime Effective Date California Effective Date
1490-2600 100 72 1,000 hours 1/1/2012 1/1/2011
1050-1489 75 53 1,000 hours 1/1/2013 1/1/2012
750-1049 60 43 1,000 hours 1/1/2014 1/1/2013
310-749 40 29 1,000 hours 1/1/2014 1/1/2013


Effective Date for New Standards

The effective date for each phase listed above indicates the first date that non-compliant products are prohibited from being manufactured or imported into the United States. California will implement the standards one year before the rest of the country.


Twenty-two types of incandescent lamps are exempt from the new minimum efficiency standards defined by EISA. DOE will monitor sales of these exempted lamp types after the legislation is implemented. If DOE determines that any exempted lamp type doubles in sales, EISA requires DOE to establish an energy conservation standard for that lamp type. This provision will prohibit any exempted lamp type from taking market share from the general service lamps affected by the EISA efficiency standards listed in the chart above.

Exempted lamps:

  1. Appliance lamps
  2. Black light lamps
  3. Bug lamps
  4. Colored lamps
  5. Infrared lamps
  6. Left-hand thread lamps
  7. Marine lamps
  8. Marine’s signal service lamps
  9. Mine service lamps
  10. Plant light lamps
  11. Reflector lamps
  12. Rough service lamps
  13. Shatter-resistant lamps (including shatter-proof and shatter-protected)
  14. Sign service lamps
  15. Silver bowl lamps
  16. Showcase lamps
  17. 3-way incandescent lamps
  18. Traffic signal lamps
  19. Vibration service lamps
  20. G shape lamps with a diameter of 5” or more
  21. T shape lamps that use no more than 40W or are longer than 10”
  22. B, BA, CA, F, G16-1/2, G-25, G-30, M-14, or S lamps of 40W or less